Legislative Branch

​​​​​​​​​​The legislative powers of the Commonwealth of Kentucky are vested in the General Assembly and found in Sections 29 through 62 of the Kentucky Constitution. The purpose of the Legislature is to make the state’s laws, to determine the duties and services of government, to provide for their execution, and to levy taxes and appropriate funds for the support of government operations. The General Assembly, as specified by the Constitution, consists of 38 Senators and 100 Representatives, each representing districts as nearly equal as possible as prescribed by Section 33 of the Kentucky Constitution. ​​​​Members of the House of ​​Representatives ​are elected for two-year terms. Members of the Senate serve​ four-year terms, with one-half of the Senate elected every two years.